This site is no longer being updated. Please visit at the Tampere University's new Student's Guide.

Responsible Teachers in the Faculty of Management


Degree Programme in Administrative Studies

Hallintotieteen opintojaksojen vastuuopettajat


Kokonaismerkintöjen hakemista koskevia ohjeita ja lomakkeita.

Kokonaismerkinnät voi pyytää sähköpostitse osoitteella etunimi.sukunimi(at) Huom! Varauduthan siihen, että kokonaismerkinnän näkymiseen rekisterissä voi mennä viikko.

Hallintotieteen kokonaismerkintöjen antajat

Hallintotieteiden tutkinto-ohjelman yhteiset perusopinnot: opintosihteeri Selene Oittinen
Aineopinnot/suuntaavat opinnot: Yliopisto-opettaja Elias Pekkola
Syventävät opinnot:
Sivuaineilijat ja valinnaisia opintoja suorittavat: Yliopisto-opettaja Elias Pekkola

Degree Programme in Business Studies


Degree Programme in Politics

If you have questions about the contents or study practices of the course units and modules in the Degree Programme of Politics (for example, in the case when you want to complete a course unit/module independently by writing an essay), please contact the teacher in charge of the respective course unit/module. For information about the book exam option, see the separate list of examiners or the electronic examination service Tenttis.

The staff email addresses are of the format <> unless otherwise stated. Replace umlaut or accented letters with non-diacritic characters (e.g. ä->a, ö->o).

Bachelor's Level Course Units & Modules

Basic Studies

POLPOP01 Introduction to International Relations, 5 ECTS, Hiski Haukkala
POLPOP02 Introduction to Political Science, 5 ECTS, Tapio Raunio
POLPOP03 Scientific Writing and Research Material in Political Studies (for degree students only), 5 ECTS: Tarja Seppä & Ilkka Ruostetsaari
POLPOP04 Political Ideologies, 5 ECTS, Mikko Lahtinen
POLPOP05 Politics and Changing Contexts, 5 ECTS, Hannes Peltonen

Intermediate Studies

Specialising Studies in International Relations

POLKVA10 The Theory and Method of International Relations (full module 10 ECTS): Eero Palmujoki
  - POLKVA11 The Theory and Method of International Relations (theory), 5 ECTS, Eero Palmujoki
  - POLKVA12 The Theory and Method of International Relations (methodology), 5 ECTS, Eero Palmujoki
POLKVA21 European Integration Theory and External Relations, 5 ECTS, Pami Aalto
POLKVA22 EU External Relations: Security, Economy and Values, 5 ECTS, Pami Aalto
POLKVA23 European, Eurasian and Global Energy Policy, 5 ECTS, Pami Aalto
POLKVA31 International Society, 5 ECTS, Hiski Haukkala
POLKVA32 Foreign Policy and Diplomacy, 5 ECTS, Hiski Haukkala
POLKVA33 International Political Economy, 5 ECTS, Hiski Haukkala
POLKVA41 New Forms of Violence, Change in Security Paradigm, 5 ECTS, Tarja Seppä
POLKVA42 Conflict Resolution, 5 ECTS, Tarja Seppä
POLKVA43 Peace, Security and International Institutions, 5 ECTS, Tarja Seppä
POLKVA44 Human Rights and International Society, 5 ECTS, Tarja Seppä

Specialising Studies in Political Science

POLVOA21 European Integration and the Political System of the European Union, 5 ECTS, Tapio Raunio
POLVOA22 Multi-level Governance and Europeanisation, 5 ECTS, Tapio Raunio
POLVOA31 Political Institutions and Processes, 5 ECTS, Kaisa Herne
POLVOA32 Comparative European Politics and the Finnish Political System, 5 ECTS, Sami Borg
POLVOA41 Parties, Elections and Political Participation, 5 ECTS, Sami Borg
POLVOA42 Political Communication and Rhetoric, 5 ECTS, Kaisa Herne
POLVOA51 Introduction to Political Theory, 5 ECTS, Mikko Lahtinen
POLVOA52 Old and New Classics of Political Theory, 5 ECTS, Mikko Lahtinen

POLKAA99 Bachelor's Thesis Seminar, 10 ECTS (for degree students only): University Lecturer Eero Palmujoki, University Lecturer Tarja Seppä, University Lecturer Sami Borg, University Lecturer Mikko Lahtinen

Master's Level Course Units & Modules

International Relations

POLKVS10 The Theory and Metatheory of International Relations, 10 ECTS, Hiski Haukkala
POLKVS21 Advanced International Relations Research Methods, 5 ECTS, Hannes Peltonen
POLKVS22 Specialised International Relations Research Methods, 5 ECTS, Hannes Peltonen
POLKVS31 The Study of World Politics, 10 ECTS, Hiski Haukkala
POLKVS32 Advanced European Integration Studies, 10 ECTS, Pami Aalto
POLKVS33 Peace and Conflict Research, 10 ECTS, Juha Vuori
POLKVS40 Workshop in International Relations, 10 ECTS (for degree students only): Hiski Haukkala
POLKVS99 Master's Thesis and Seminar, 40 ECTS (for degree students only): Pami Aalto, Hannes Peltonen, Juha Vuori

Political Science

POLVOS10 Contemporary Political Theory, 10 ECTS, Kaisa Herne
POLVOS21 Political Systems Outside of Europe, 10 ECTS, Kaisa Herne
POLVOS22 The European Union, 10 ECTS, Tapio Raunio
POLVOS23 Civil Society and Political Participation, 10 ECTS, Sami Borg
POLVOS24 Political Philosophy, 10 ECTS, Mikko Lahtinen
POLVOS25 Political Communication and Rhetoric, 10 ECTS, Kaisa Herne
POLVOS26 Public Policy and Governance, 10 ECTS, Ilkka Ruostetsaari
POLVOS27 Political Systems, 10 ECTS, Kaisa Herne
POLVOS28 Parties and Elections, 10 ECTS, Sami Borg
POLVOS40 Master's Thesis Seminar, 10 ECTS (for degree students only): Kaisa Herne, Tapio Raunio, Ilkka Ruostetsaari

Study Modules offered as Optional Studies (Joint Thematic Modules)

POLYEP11 Finnish Energy Policy, 5 ECTS, Ilkka Ruostetsaari
POLYEP12 Civic Participation, 5 ECTS, Ilkka Ruostetsaari

For further options, please see also the curricula guide for Thematic Modules offered within the Faculty of Management. NB! These course units and modules are offered by all three degree programmes of the Faculty, and there may be some restrictions for completing them as exchange and visiting students. Always check directly with the teacher in charge and/or the degree programme in question.

Departmental Advisers

For further information about the contents and requirements of the studies in Politics, please contact the teacher responsible for the course unit/module, or the respective departmental advisers:

International Relations: Professor Juha Vuori, rm. Pinni A4045, tel. 050 437 7588, email: juha.vuori(at) Office hours: Mon 13–14 o'clock (during semesters), or by appointment.
Political Science: University Lecturer Mikko Lahtinen, rm. Pinni A4044, tel. 050 318 5995, email: mikko.i.lahtinen(at) Office hours: Mon 13–14 (during semesters), or by appointment.