Academic Board appoints the first Board of Tampere University

Submitted on Wed, 10/24/2018 - 09:30

The Academic Board of the new Tampere University has yesterday appointed the University’s first Board. The new University, which is created through a merger between the University of Tampere and Tampere University of Technology, will begin its operations in 1 January 2019. Together with Tampere University of Applied Sciences, the University will constitute a higher education community that covers the broadest spectrum of academic disciplines in Finland, with technology, health and society as its priority areas.

As set forth in the Universities Act, the seven-member Board of university shall broadly represent the highest level of national and international expertise relating to the scientific and artistic fields included in the scope of the Foundation's activities and to societal and business life.
The Academic Board, which represents the University community, appoints Board members after consulting the founders of Tampere University. Three of the Board members are selected from among the candidates nominated by the founders.

On 23 October, the Academic Board appointed the following persons to the first Board of the new Tampere University:

PhD Ilkka Herlin, Chairman of the Board in Cargotec Corporation
Professor Jari Kinaret, Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg, Sweden
Professor (emer) Kimmo Kontula, University of Helsinki
Mayor Lauri Lyly, City of Tampere
DEcon Pekka Puustinen, Executive Vice President, Strategy and Renewal, OP Financial Group
Professor Pirkko Liisa Raudaskoski, Aalborg University, Aalborg, Denmark
Student of social sciences Iiris Suomela, Vice Chair in Tampere City Council

The Academic Board initiated the appointment process of the first Board last spring. The Academic Board established a Board Appointment Committee to make the necessary preparations for the appointment of the first Board. The Committee comprised, as representatives of the founders, CEO of Technology Industries of Finland Jaakko Hirvola, Executive Director of economic policy, competitiveness and innovation of the City of Tampere Teppo Rantanen and Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Social Affairs and Health Päivi Sillanaukee and, as representatives of the university community, Professor Ilkka Pörsti, Tenure Track Researcher Essi Sarlin and student of social sciences Anne Soinsaari. The Board Appointment Committee was chaired by Professor Ilkka Pörsti.

To support the work of the Board Appointment Committee, the Academic Board drew up further guidelines that supplement the Universities Act and the Constitution of the Foundation and invited the members of the university community and the founders of Tampere University Foundation to nominate candidates for Board membership.

The Academic Board appointed the Board members in accordance with the proposal issued by the Board Appointment Committee.

“The Academic Board was pleased with the high level of expertise and the balanced composition of the Board proposed by the Board Appointment Committee. The disciplines of the new Tampere University as well as societal relations and collaboration with industry and business are broadly represented on the Board,” says Vice Chair of the Academic Board Eeva Moilanen.

The first Board of the new Tampere University will take office forthwith upon its appointment. The term of office of the Transitional Board will expire at the same time. In accordance with the Implementation Act pertaining to the establishment of the new University, the Transitional Board was tasked with undertaking the necessary preparations to enable the new Tampere University, created through a merger between Tampere University of Technology and the University of Tampere, to begin its operations on 1 January 2019.

“I would like to extend my sincere gratitude to the members of our outgoing Board for their excellent contribution to the development of the new Tampere University,” says Moilanen.

Vice Chair of the Academic Board of the new Tampere University Eeva Moilanen, tel. +358 50 305 6678,